The History of Dimlicote Farm

John Henry Stokes built much of Great Bowden during the 18th and 19th centuries including the original stables used by the Fernie Hunt in the 20th Century and possibly the Fernie Hunt Kennels. To finance this building he made money from horses by breeding, purchasing and supplying horses, particularly hunters to many wealthy people. This included mounting the majority of the crowned heads of Europe including the Prince of Wales, later Edward VII. The land that he used for his horses included a large part of Welham Bush Farm, which now forms Dimlicote Farm. Most of his land was sold in the 1920s and Mr Weston (no relation of the current owners) farmed Welham Bush Farm.

In 1944 Alfred Morris, grandfather of Mary Weston, bought Welham Bush Farm because he had always wanted to farm in the Welland Valley, having been a drover from South Wales bringing cattle to the Midlands for fattening and seeing the quality of the pasture land.

In 2008, Alfred’s last surviving son, David, died and left Welham Bush Farm to the children of Alfred’s oldest son – Mary Weston, David and Richard Morris. Mary established a beef herd and a DIY Livery Yard on her third of the farm and called it Dimlicote Farm using the ancient name of one of the fields. At this point, Helen Martin, Mary’s eldest daughter, came into the business using experience gained from being a client in 5 different livery yards across the country while she was in the Royal Navy.